Traffic Laws are essential not only to the driver but also to passengers, pedestrians, and motorists. These laws are often ignored mostly when the traffic officers are not in sight. What people forget when not following these rules is that they are risking not only their lives but also the lives of others involved. In California, new traffic laws have been disclosed and have been effect since the beginning of 2017. Contrary to the previous law, which required that only children under the age of one should use rear-facing child safety seat, now the law applies to children who are two years old or younger. However, the law exempts children who are 40 inches tall and those that weigh forty pounds because the safety seats cannot fit them.
Ignorant drivers often use their mobile phones while driving. Phones are the leading cause of distraction and can lead to car accidents when the driver fails to concentrate on the road. The law requires that wireless devices must be mounted on the car when the drivers need to use them to minimize accidents. They should not obstruct the drivers’ view. Before the new laws, in the case of a collision, the injured person was only supposed to inform the Department of Motor Vehicles if the cost of damage was at least $750. Currently, you can only notify the Department of Motor Vehicles if the collision leads to an injury and at least $1000.
Other laws that are currently under discussion are, Lane splitting. The California law allows that motorists can ride between the lanes even when the traffic is not moving. If the law is not changed, the motorists will continue to enjoy the benefits that come with it and if otherwise, then, they have to move with others. Ride-sharing service drivers like Uber and Lyft are not spared at all. As of the beginning of July 2018, they should not exceed the level of 0.004 of blood alcohol content. They have a year and some months to enjoy their freedom as the other drivers. At least they have the time to get used to that reality. Driving under the influence also will not be tolerated from the start of 2019. Both first-time and repeat DUI offenders who will cause crashes leading to injuries will be served with an ignition interlock device for six months to four years.